M. Andrew Gordon

S’more Bread Pudding

In Desserts on March 16, 2010 at 8:07 pm

When rain starts falling by multiple inches per day over several days, one of the first things I think to do is to cook.  This weekend was the perfect opportunity to spend time in the kitchen and I made homemade pasta, yeast-risen bread, an incredibly flavorful ragú, and s’more bread pudding.  Only the latter item, however, was a new recipe and thus fitting the criteria for being shown on Just Add Bacon.

Bread pudding is one of my favorite desserts but I do not really care for the traditional bread pudding that is full of raisins (though I do enjoy raisins).  Instead, I like the blank slate that crusty bread baked in a custard provides: I’ve made delicious coconut bread puddings; pumpkin and cranberry; apple and walnut.

The other thing about bread pudding, or what I call bread pudding, is that I’m not necessarily a fan of recipes that yield an almost molten pudding.  I like the bread to retain its shape, which is handy, because the only way to get that pudding-like consistency is to let the bread soak overnight.  My recipe calls for soaking for only a matter of minutes.  Maybe it isn’t traditional, but I like it and think it’s pretty delicious.

In this case, Lena and I had the leftover ingredients for S’mores and some leftover bread.  On Sunday I combined the two into what I think is my definitive s’more bread pudding.  The trick is to roll each piece of soaked bread in graham cracker crumbs, there by coating each piece in graham cracker.  Then you can just mix in chunks of marshmallow and chocolate.  The final flourish, which was Lena’s suggestion, was to add some peanut butter, which is practically second to bacon on the order of things that you can just add to any recipe!

S’more Bread Pudding – Yields 2 Servings

  • 1 teaspoon butter
  • 2 cups chopped bread
  • 1 cup graham cracker crumbs, about 4 sheets
  • 2 eggs
  • 2/3 cup milk
  • 1 cup packed marshmallows, chopped
  • 1 bar chocolate, chopped
  • 1 heaping tablespoon of peanut butter

1.    Preheat oven to 350° F.  Use butter to grease a large ramekin or two 1 cup ramekins.

2.    Place crumbled graham crackers in large shallow bowl.  In mixing bowl, whisk eggs and milk to combine.  In small batches, dip bread chunks in milk mixture and then coat in graham crackers.  Place in empty mixing bowl.  Repeat until all bread has been dipped.

3.    Add marshmallows and chocolate to bread chunks.  Pour any remaining graham crackers into dish with bread.  Add peanut butter to remaining milk mixture and whisk to combine.

4.    Pour milk mixture over bread, chocolate, and marshmallows.  Stir to combine and pour into the prepared dishes.  Bake for 35 minutes.

  1. Matt, I wondered if you would have a version of the ol’ Boston Irish boiled dinner. My wife Emily doesn’t find boiling everything to be too exciting, so we braised and roasted it all, including the cabbage. Delicious.

Leave a Reply

