M. Andrew Gordon

A Tale of Two Pizzas

In Uncategorized on September 28, 2009 at 12:51 am

I’ll be the first to say it – I need lessons in how to make pizza.  So if anyone has any good tips or recipes, I am willing to listen.  I’d say I would make you famous, but this humble blog is far from the pages of Gourmet or Bon Appetit.  As far as pizzas go, the results today were tasty, they just didn’t look good.  There was a lot of room for improvement, but I liked the toppings a lot and want to experiment more with these.  If anyone wants to serve on the tasting panel, let me know.  But now, off to the kitchen…

Today being an at times rainy Sunday, it seemed fitting to take advantage and spend some time in the kitchen.  Since I had earlier in the weekend purchased pork tenderloin because it was on sale, some sort of pulled pork or BBQ pork was a definite choice.  Red onions and some sort of cheese would finish it off nicely.  For the other pizza, I toyed with the idea of making a butternut squash and goat cheese version, but decided against it (although in the interest of finally writing down recipes, that one will be making an appearance in the coming months) and settled on a roasted potato, bacon, and gorgonzola pie.  Both would have a red sauce base.

But I needed to get the pork cooked first, so into the slow cooker went one tenderloin with a bottle of beer.  Sheepishly, I have to admit it was a Budweiser, though there is little doubt in my mind I’d enjoy this more with a brown ale or even a stout.  About two tablespoons of molasses, a halved poblano pepper, two cloves of garlic, salt, and pepper went in as well and then I just let it cook for several hours, turning occasionally.  When the pork was finished cooking, I removed the pork and strained the cooking liquid into a saucepan, and reduced to half.  Into the reduction went some ketchup, molasses, liquid smoke, and honey and then the shredded pork went into the saucepan with the quick BBQ sauce.

While shopping for the other ingredients, we stumbled across a Vermont maple-smoked cheddar and decided that might just be the ticket for the pork pizza.  Fingerling potatoes would work out well for the other pizza.

My sauce was just the following:

  • Olive oil
  • White onion
  • Garlic
  • Green pepper
  • 28 oz can San Marzano tomatoes, with juice
  • Basil
  • Rosemary
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Sugar

Heat the olive oil, cook the onion, garlic, and pepper until the former two items are translucent.  Add the tomatoes and turn up the heat, breaking up the tomatoes with a spoon or fork.  Add torn pieces of basil and rosemary to taste, salt, sugar, and pepper and let it simmer for about ten minutes.

While that was cooking I tossed the potatoes with a quartered red onion in olive oil and salt/pepper.   This was then roasted at 400F for about 25 minutes, until the potatoes were easily pierced.  I also cooked the bacon at the same time in the oven.

The following are the basics for the pizzas.  I tried to get some photos, but my food photography skills are slightly below my culinary skills, so I will try to work on that.

Smokehouse Pizza – a take on The Cabin’s infamous Smokehouse

  • Dough
  • Sauce
  • Pulled pork
  • Smoked cheddar
  • Roasted red onion

Bacon, Potato, and Gorgonzola Pizza

  • Dough
  • Sauce
  • Sliced, roasted fingerling potatoes
  • Crumbled bacon
  • Crumbled Gorgonzola
Leave a Reply

